Latest MIHS News


Date Range

Most Recent Post

MIHS FBLA Members Leave Region Conference as Winners

FBLA Group at ConferenceMorris Innovative High School's Future Business Leaders of America competitors walked away from the Region Leadership Conference on January 9 as winners.

With more than 30 chapters competing in the 14-county area, these students represented MIHS well. Five students placed in the top five and received medals.

Joaquin Mendez - 2nd place in Website Design

Elizabeth Cornejo - 5th place in Job Interview and 9th in Future Business Leader

Karlee Maddux - 2nd place in Emerging Business Issues

Megan Palmer - 5th place in Introduction to Public Speaking and 9th in Hospitality Management Team

Dawson Rhoades - 2nd place in Emerging Business Issues

Megan Palmer said, "FBLA has helped me to build my confidence in myself and come out of my shell to compete."

Three students competed online and did well, however, did not place in the top five. Brittany Adkins (9th in Hospitality Management Team), Andrea Velasquez and Jamon Watson joined their classmates for the conference and helped the MIHS FBLA chapter win points for competing.

FBLA sponsor Sheila Yarbrough commented, "I am very proud of these students who had the courage to go in front of others and make a presentation. They all worked hard at improving their communication skills, and I am so excited that they took the initiative to get out of their comfort zone and compete."

Pictured above from left to right:

Front Row: Karlee Maddux, Elizabeth Cornejo, Megan Palmer, Sheila Yarbrough, FBLA Adviser

Back row: Dawson Rhoades, Jamon Watson, FBLA Treasurer, and Brittany Adkins, FBLA Secretary